Custard Powder Cake

61796584658__8A0D932A-560D-4FDE-904D-17267F464FBC

Custard Powder Cake is a super-easy to make, one bowl mixture made using ingredients I usually have in the pantry.

125 gm butter

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 Cup caster sugar *

1 Cup Self Raising flour

3 tblspn custard powder

1/2 Cup milk

Melt the butter, then add all of the remaining ingredients into a large bowl and beat until they are well combined.

Pour the batter into a lined and greased cake tin. I used a square pan but a round tin would be fine.

Bake at 175 degrees Celsius for approximately 45 minutes (test the cake with a skewer to make sure it is cooked through).

*Mum made this recipe using white sugar instead of caster and said it was delicious, although I think the texture would be fluffier when caster sugar is used.

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. How come I just saw this? No idea, but it reminds me of a cake I sometimes make which sounds very much like this, except you add caraway seeds. So easy, so tasty. Also it works by substituting in GF flour and soy milk.

    Reply
  2. This looks delicious! But I have no idea what custard powder is! I am in the US (California) – perhaps we know it by a different name?

    Reply
    • Thank you! Custard powder is very common in Australia. It’s mostly used to make custard but I often use it in cakes and biscuits (cookies).
      The texture is similar to cornflour but custard powder has sugar in it.
      I’ve just searched Google and found that in the USA it is considered to be similar to powder to make instant puddings. Otherwise, a brand called ‘Bird’s’ is available from Walmart.

      Reply

Leave a comment