A twilight walk through my Melbourne suburb during Autumn

IMG_1201

I’d like to show you my part of the world, which is a western suburb of Melbourne. I took the following photos at around 7pm during the middle of March which is autumn in Australia. The photo above was taken from a park near my home. I usually work in one of those buildings on the horizon but am presently working from home (social distancing).

IMG_1186

My area is quite a new suburb and in Melbourne new estates are obligated to provide a certain amount of wetlands and parks.

IMG_1187

The following photos are of flowering gums.

Spot the native bee in the photo below.

IMG_1217

A wetland and a bird… I have no idea what the bird is, but the photo after this is of a magpie. I saw some rosellas too but wasn’t quick enough to get a photo of them.

IMG_1237

Gum nuts from two different trees.

The next photo is of a native ground cover called pig-face which is a horrible name but these are beautiful when they are in flower.

IMG_1249

Bottle brush.

IMG_1253

Different barks, all Australian natives.

The following shrub is a Grevillea.

IMG_1220

A few trees to finish off. There are more than 700 species of eucalyptus trees in the world, most of them in Australia. Most of these trees are in streets outside people’s homes.

IMG_1209

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Lovely to have so much nature close to you! Lots of things we don’t have here, especially the tree varieties, but those magpies seem to get everywhere! Nature will be quite happy that humanity has stopped polluting it temporarily – apparently air quality is already improving around the world as we all stay home. Every cloud has a silver lining! 😀

    Reply
    • I’ve been reading about air pollution too and thought the same. Did you see the photos of the Venetian canals? I haven’t been there (maybe one day?) but had the impression they are usually quite smelly and dirty.
      The magpie in the photo is one that He Who Eats All of Our Leftovers feeds. It drives me crazy because they bring their babies around too and their squawking is worse than a human baby’s, but he loves them… and they love bits of raw meat.

      Reply
      • I hadn’t seen the photos of the canals but just checked – what a difference! I wonder if there’s any chance of us learning from this how much nicer a clean world would be and not going back to our usual ways after it’s over. If so, it could even turn out to be a good thing…

Leave a comment