Lemon Bliss Balls

lemon-bliss

I read a book about eating sugar-free* recently and after being given a shopping bag full of lemons**, decided to make Lemon Bliss Balls. There were a few ‘exotic’ ingredients, such as Almond Meal and Rice Malt Syrup, which turned out to be readily available from my local supermarket. Rice Malt Syrup turned out to be a ‘fructose-free’ sweetener with a lovely mild flavour. (Don’t ask me about the scientific stuff, I’m a bit sketchy about how fructose/glucose etc works, but to sum up the book I read, fructose = bad. I’m not convinced, but the book is quite popular at the moment).

Anyway, Lemon Bliss Balls are delicious and I can eat twice as many as other Bliss Balls, because they are ‘healthy.’

2 Cups shredded coconut

1 Cup almond meal

1 Tablespoon butter (the original recipe called for coconut oil, but I find coconut oil to be too waxy for my liking. However, if you’re set on making the healthiest version possible, use 1 Tablespoon of coconut oil instead of butter).

2-3 Tablespoons of rice malt syrup

zest and juice of 1 lemon (I also zested part of my finger, but picked the bloody bits out of the bowl).

1/2 Cup desiccated coconut.

Mix all of the ingredients except the desiccated coconut together, then roll into teaspoon-sized balls. Roll the balls in the desiccated coconut, then refrigerate.

*Every time I try going sugar-free I end up having a massive chocolate-binge and putting on an additional three kilos.

**I split the bag of lemon with my mother-in-law, juiced a heap of lemons and froze the juice in an ice-cube tray, and cooked with the rest.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

