Sweet Treats from Frankie Magazine

sweet

Sweet Treats by Frankie Magazine is a gorgeous cookbook, full of old fashioned confectionery recipes for favourites such as Toffee Apples, Honeycomb and Fudge.

The styling in Sweet Treats is retro too, with the goodies photographed on lovely old plates (similar to what your Nanna would have used) and displayed on patterned tablecloths and doilies.

I made the recipe for Marshmallow Cones, which turned out exactly like the picture in the book. I have made marshmallow before, but must have buried the memory of how sticky home made marshmallow is. It tasted great, but believe me, it went everywhere. I was licking it off the kitchen benches, the beaters, knives, spoons, trays, you name it.

The recipe for Honey Joys is probably known to everyone in Australia, and is such a favourite that I expect most people can make them without following the instructions. Still, I had forgotten how to make Toffee even though I used to make about ten different recipes as a child (don’t ask me how many fillings I have in my teeth now, self inflicted, I know), but the photo brought back memories of just how good sugar, butter, vinegar and water are when boiled together, poured into a patty pan and sprinkled with 100’s and 1000’s.

I borrowed Sweet Treats from the library, but I’m on the lookout for a copy of my own.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

