New Project – Make Every Recipe from this Recipe Book

MS Cookbook

Maybe I’m slightly obsessive, but I’ve always wanted to work my way through a recipe book, making every recipe from cover to cover.

When the movie Julie and Julia came out, I was beside myself with joy, to find that I wasn’t the only one who shared this compulsion. Julie and Julia was based on a blog called The Julie/Julia Project, where Julie Powell documents working her way through Julia Child’s recipe book, ‘Mastering the Art of French Cooking’.

My preference is baking with sugar (and to be completely honest, Julie Powell’s project is so far beyond my cooking abilities that I wouldn’t even enjoy the challenge she set herself), so when M recently gave me the cookbook in the photo above, I knew I had found my own recipe book to make every recipe in.

The book is titled Magnificently Simple Marvellous Recipes and was a fundraiser sold by the Geelong Multiple Sclerosis Auxiliary around 30 to 35 years ago for $1. There are 47 recipes, and nearly all of them appeal to my sweet tooth.

M is going to be so happy she gave me this recipe book once she starts getting samples!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

