Essential Ingredients

There are a number of ingredients that if I haven’t got in the pantry, I get anxious. I like to be able to make a batch of biscuits or bake a cake at any time without having to make a trip to the supermarket before I start (this is a silly worry, as I am only a ten minute walk to the shops from home).

My essential ingredients are:

Self raising flour, plain flour, bicarb soda and baking powder.

Butter, eggs and milk.

Caster sugar, brown sugar, icing sugar, golden syrup and honey.

Cocoa, chocolate and white chocolate bits, chocolate and white chocolate melts, dark chocolate blocks (can be dangerous if I want something to nibble and there is no other chocolate in the house).

Cinnamon, mixed spice, nutmeg and ginger.

Vanilla extract (I’m going to be picky here, always extract, never essence).

Coconut, peanut butter, walnuts, pecans and almonds.

Sweetened condensed milk, mixed fruit, raisins and glace cherries.

I usually have apples, lemons and bananas in the fruit bowl too.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

