Why Didn’t Anyone Warn Me?

I’m new to blogging.

I’ve been reading and enjoying blogs for a while, but wasn’t sure if I had something to say or not. I also have to admit to being something of a Luddite, and wasn’t confident that I would be able to manage the technical side of having my own blog.

However, two weeks ago, I read a book (suprise, suprise), called ‘Create Your Own Blog’ by Tris Hussey, which not only gave me the courage to join the WordPress community (Hussey says everyone has a story to tell), but gave me simple step by step instructions how to go about the scary technical bits – go to WordPress.com, join up, write…
Actually, ‘Create Your Own Blog’ contains instructions for a lot more than the basics of blogging. There are also sections suited to people wanting to use a blog for business purposes, how to use multimedia (two weeks ago I did not know the meaning of the word multimedia, let alone the existance of things called ‘widgets’) and much more. I’m sure I’ll be referring back to this book as my questions become more sophisticated.

I’m also reading and enjoying more blogs than I’ve ever read before, and am learning and feeling awed and inspired and amused and provoked and suprised and any number of other emotions, which I suppose is the whole point of telling stories.

So, this is my 12th blog, and I have one complaint.

Why didn’t anyone warn me before I started that blogging is addictive?

Now that I’ve started telling my stories, I don’t know if I will be able to stop. My mind is ticking over constantly. I’m waking up in the middle of the night to write things down that I want to blog about.

So, thank you Tris Hussey (I think) for your book which gave me the courage to start and thank you WordPress for providing this amazing community and platform.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

